This article first appeared on www.chefsselect.com
NOTE: Chefs Select Parchment Paper is now PaperChef Culinary Parchment.
During Passover, it is forbidden to eat products which contain wheat, barley, oats, rye or spelt. Sephardic Jews from the Mediterranean and Northern Africa will eat legumes and rice, while Ashkenazi (European) Jews will not eat beans, lentils, peas, corn, rice or soy products. Fresh fruits, herbs and most veggies are Kosher. All processed foods and products require certification to be considered Kosher for Passover.